FCS Foundation Honors Founding Chair Brad Prechtl and Announces New Board Leadership

Sarasota, FL – April 11th, 2018… The Florida Cancer Specialists (FCS) Foundation Board is pleased to announce new Board Co-ChairsDr. Michael Diaz, and FCS Board Member Jeffrey Phipps, Sr., as well as welcome new board member, FCS Physician Dr. Maen Hussein. Founding Chair, Brad Prechtl, was honored for his remarkable service to the Board and his contributions to the FCS Foundation with the recent establishment of the Brad and Terri Prechtl Fund. The new fund, which will be ongoing, was created to recognize Brad’s and his wife Terri’s leadership, personal financial support and dedication to the FCS Foundation.

From its inception in 2010, the FCS Foundation has benefited from having Mr. Prechtl at the helm, working tirelessly to help provide much-needed support for cancer patients across the state; securing the support of the FCS partner physicians to fund the FCS Foundation expenses, as well as annual donations. The FCS Foundation has seen tremendous growth in both fundraising efforts and FCS physician and employee involvement. Prechtl’s leadership has been a vital component in building the capacity of the FCS Foundation to provide over $4M in patient grants since it was founded. The FCS Foundation is greatly appreciative for Prechtl’s ongoing commitment, personal financial support and his outstanding service throughout the years.

Dr. Michael Diaz, one of the newly elected Co-Chairs of the Board, practices in St. Petersburg and has served on the Board since the beginning of the Foundation in 2010. Jeff Phipps joined the board in June, 2017, and has demonstrated his strong leadership and support throughout his involvement.Dr. Maen Hussein, has now been elected to join the FCS Foundation Board of Directors. Dr. Hussein practices at the FCS locations in The Villages and Tavares, and is a strong advocate and supporter of the FCS Foundation.

Dr. Michael Diaz joined Florida Cancer Specialists & Research Institute (FCS) in 2011 and currently serves on the FCS Executive Board and as Director of Patient Advocacy for the practice. In addition, he serves on the Board of Directors and as the Immediate Past President for the Florida Society of Clinical Oncology (FLASCO). Dr. Diaz also provides leadership on the Board of Directors for Community Oncology Alliance (COA) as Vice-President, serving on the Payment Reform Task Force working to champion Medical Oncology Health Care Reform and as a Co-Medical Director for the COA Patient Advocacy Network. He is active with the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) on multiple Work Groups and as a member of ASCO’s Clinical Practice Committee. Dr. Diaz donates many hours as an active Medical Missionary and has participated in numerous medical missions to Kingston, Jamaica.

Jeffrey Phipps, Sr. is the Senior Member of the Phipps Group Wealth Management practice with Merrill Lynch in Delray Beach, FL.  While attending the University of Pennsylvania The Wharton School, he earned several advanced designations, including the Accredited Wealth Management Advisor degree.  He has been working in the financial services in since 1970 and with Merrill Lynch since 2008.   Mr. Phipps also serves on the Boards of the University of Nebraska, College of Business Administration Advisor, Director of the Palm Beach County Medical Society Planning Committee, Director of Mounts Botanical Gardens, Executive Committee Member of the Historical Society of Palm Beach County, and Director of Lake Worth Drainage District.

Dr. Maen Hussein currently serves on the FCS Executive Board. Dr. Hussein also serves on the Board of Florida Association of Clinical Oncology (FLASCO) and is a member of American College of Physicians. Dr. Hussein was the recipient of the 2010 Leesburg Regional Medical Center Outstanding Achievement Award, and the recipient of the 2014 Leesburg Regional Medical Center Foundation Hope in Healing Humanitarian Award. Dr. Hussein was also named Physician of the Quarter Award at Florida Hospital Waterman. He has participated in numerous Clinical Trials, and has served as the Principal Investigator on a recent Lung Cancer Clinical Trial conducted through Florida Cancer Specialists and Sarah Cannon, one of the leading community-based Clinical Trial organizations in the US.

“I can’t think of three individuals more deserving to serve as the new FCS Foundation Board Co-Chairs and Board Member than FCS Physicians, Drs.Michael DiazMaen Hussein, and FCS Board Member Jeffrey Phipps, Sr. Their dedication and leadership have been invaluable to the Foundation; they are truly outstanding volunteers and amazing assets to the FCS Foundation Board,” said Brad Prechtl, MBA, past Chairman of the Board of Florida Cancer Specialists Foundation and current CEO of Florida Cancer Specialists & Research Institute (FCS).

Lynn Rasys, Executive Director of the FCS Foundation added, “The FCS Foundation is excited to welcome two new Board Co-Chairs and Board Member for 2018! FCS Physicians Drs. Michael DiazMaen Hussein and FCS Board Member Jeffrey Phipps, Sr. have already contributed immensely by volunteering and supporting the Foundation – we are grateful for their new roles on the Board.”


About Florida Cancer Specialists Foundation:

The Florida Cancer Specialists (FCS) Foundation provides financial support to qualified cancer patients in the state of Florida for expenses such as rent or mortgage, car payments and utility bills. By giving patients peace of mind in knowing that their bills are being paid while they are undergoing treatment, the FCS Foundation allows them to concentrate on what really matters – fighting cancer.

Due to the generosity of the Florida Cancer Specialists partner physicians in covering all overhead expenses for the Foundation, 100% of donations received go directly towards paying the essential non-medical living expenses of an adult battling cancer.

The Foundation is a 501(3)(c) nonprofit organization and located at 5204 Paylor Lane in Sarasota, Florida. Learn more about the FCS Foundation at: or call 941.677.7181.

For More Information, Contact:

Florida Cancer Specialists Foundation

Lynn Rasys, Executive Director


More News